FAQ

Where can I get answers to questions not answered here?

Please feel free to email any questions to: timebarons@gmail.com

Can I view the discard pile at any time?

Yes.

Does your opponent have to show you the type and number of cards in his hand?

Yes, but only if you ask.

If my Homeland is destroyed does something special happen?

No. Your Homeland just goes to the discard pile like any other site.

Can I damage my own sites?

Yes.

How many followers can I move in a single relocate action?

As many as you want. There is no limit to the number of followers you can move in a single relocate action, and these followers can originate from any number of sites.

Can I stack multiple attachments on the same site?

Yes. There is no limit to the number of attachments that can be on a single site.

Card Clarifications

Airstrike

Airstrike does 2 damage to Homeland. (Homeland is considered a Level I card.)

Computer Network

Computer Network negates follower requirements for activating site abilities. However, if the ability itself instructs you to sacrifice followers (such as with Temple or Military Base) you still have to sacrifice those followers to use the ability.

Conversion

As per the basic "gain follower" mechanic, the gained followers from Conversion can be placed on any combination of sites you own.

Escape Route

Escape Route can only be played in response to cards that use the words "damage." It does NOT work against cards that say "kill" or "take."

When damage is being dealt to multiple targets at once, such as with a card like Shelling, your opponent must declare all of his targets up front.

If your opponent has an active Sniper Nest, relocating your followers with Escape Route will activate the Sniper Nest's ability. Completely resolve the Escape Route and other damage effects before dealing with the Sniper Nest.

Fanaticism

Followers sacrificed to play Fanaticism are treated as being "killed." You can play Martyr on them or rescue them with a Hospital.

If your Fanaticism attack is undermined by your opponent (such as through the use of a reaction card like Misinformation or Escape Route) you still lose the followers.

Forcefield

Forcefield prevents damage to your other sites as long as there is at least one follower on Forcefield. The moment Forcefield has no followers, the Forcefield becomes inactive and your other sites may be damaged as usual.

In the event that your opponent simultaneously kills all followers on Forcefield while also damaging another site you own, damage to the other site is still prevented, because the Forcefield was still active at the moment of attack.

Forcefield only prevents "damage." It does not work against cards which "kill" or "take" followers.

Forcefield only prevents damage as it being done. It does not affect damage counters already present on sites.

If you have an active Forcefield and your opponent deals damage to one of your other sites (perhaps because you played Misinformation), the damage is prevented.

Homeland

Homeland is considered a Level I card. This means it takes 2 damage from Airstrike.

Homeland can be brought back from the discard pile with Library or Archaeology. However, when played mid-game, Homeland does NOT enter play with 10 followers on it. Those 10 followers are only available at the very start of the game.

Note that nothing special happens if you lose your Homeland.

Hospital

If followers on Hospital are killed, count how many followers are on Hospital BEFORE the attack to determine which abilities you can activate and how many followers will be saved.

You cannot "bundle" together multiple sources of damage. When using Hospital resolve one event/ability at a time.

Followers that are saved by Hospital are no longer considered to have been killed. That means any card which triggers off of killed followers (such as Martyr) cannot benefit from these followers.

Library

Any card grabbed out of the discard pile is public and must be revealed to your opponent.

Martyr

Martyr even works on your own followers that you killed and/or sacrificed (remember: a sacrifice is considered a "kill").

You cannot "bundle" together multiple sources of damage. You may only Martyr followers that are killed by a single event or ability.

Military Base

Followers sacrificed on Military Base are treated as being "killed." You can play Martyr on them or rescue them with a Hospital.

If your Military Base attack is undermined by your opponent (such as through the use of a reaction card like Misinformation or Escape Route) you still lose the followers.

Misinformation

Misinformation can only be played in response to cards that use the word "damage." It does NOT work against cards that say "kill" or "take."

When damage is being dealt to multiple targets at once, such as with a card like Shelling, have your opponent decide FIRST which sites are being targeted. You may then use Misinformation to redirect damage away from JUST ONE of the targets. It's okay to move the damage to one of the other sites already being targeted.

EXAMPLE: Player One uses Shelling to do 1 damage to a Mission and 2 damage to a Library. Player Two uses Misinformation to redirect the damage done to the Library to the Mission instead. The Mission takes 3 damage and is destroyed. The Library is unaffected.

Mission

Mission's abilities only allow you to discard one card per activation.

When using Mission's abilities, any cards discarded must come from your hand, NOT from in play.

Plague

Plague kills a follower at the very beginning of the turn, before the owner of the site can spend any actions or activate any abilities.

It is in fact possible to get rid of a Plague by simply moving your followers off of a site and then back on it again. However, as this will cost you two actions, you may want to think about whether or not this is going to be worth it.

Ruthless Efficiency

You may discard cards and sacrifice followers in any combination, and you will earn one action for each. EXAMPLE: Player One discards 2 cards and sacrifices 3 followers to gain a total of 5 actions.

Followers sacrificed for Ruthless Efficiency are treated as being "killed." You can play Martyr on them or rescue them with a Hospital.

Any cards discarded must come from your hand, NOT from in play.

Sentient AI

The site owner controls Sentient AI. So if you play Sentient AI on an opponent's site, your opponent will have access to the second activation, not you.

Shelling

The attacker can distribute the damage however they choose - all 3 damage to one site, 2 damage to one site and 1 to another, or 1 damage to each of three different sites.

Shelling deals damage to multiple sites SIMULTANEOUSLY.

Sniper Nest

You can kill any of your opponent's follower(s) after they relocate, even if the opponent didn't physically move the token. All followers are considered "in motion" during a relocate.

Temple

Temple's ability only allows you to gain one extra action per turn.


Time Barons Card Game and Website © 2009-2014 Jonathan Perry and Derek Yu